Gordon Tobing Sing Sing So

Album "Gordon Tobing, Sing Sing So, Suara Impola", Media record.

Album "Gordon Tobing, Sing Sing So, Suara Impola", Media record.

Gordon Tobing (1925-1993) is folk singer from Medan, a city in west Sumatera. I am not familiar with this singer until I buy this Gordon Tobing cassete newly. His voice is tender, not as I image mostly from Batak singers which are usually hard to hear. Some people said that Gordon Tobing is such legend singer — he mostly sang Batakness folk songs, as interpretated in this album “Sing Sing So” with his group Suara Impola (recorded by Media, with no date of releasing). His songs in this album are Sing Sing So, Lisoi. Butet, Soleram and so on. *

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Paul  On February 14, 2010 at 10:34 am

    Indonesian and Batak music is not much known outside Indonesia.
    I used to travel to Indonesia on business in the late 1970s. At tha time I purchased the cassette tape shown. I absolutely loved Gordon Tobing’s voice and played the songs so many times. Sad, gentle and hauntingly beautiful.
    I was looking for a cd of his singing when I saw this website. Do you know of such a cd?
    If not Gordon Tobing can you recomment a cd with the same songs on it?
    With best wishes from England. Paul

    Response:
    I am glad to hear your impression on Gordon Tobing works. I don’t know such Gordon Tobing’s cd. I hope that some our blog reader can inform about this. Thank you. (Kelik M. Nugroho, owner of this blog).

  • Jenny  On March 23, 2010 at 6:58 am

    I am trying to find a recording of Gordon Tobing singing Rayuan Pulau Kelapa, atau Nyiur Melambai. Can you help?
    Jenny

  • MK Wardaya  On January 26, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    An awesome album of Gordon Tobing. Anyone interested with Indonesian folk songs should listen this album. I have two tapes of this record. Should anyone want to have it, do not hesitate to contact me.
    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

